From Chaos to Order- Why I love my work.

What can I say?  I truly LOVE what I “do”.  Bringing order to chaos is oddly very satisfying to me.  I suppose it’s a small taste of control over a world that sometimes appears to be anything but controllable.  Further more, organizing a space brings so much relief and satisfaction to the recipient that I just can’t help but love it.

Many times when I am organizing a space or coaching a client I get to experience a sense of “flow”.  Psychologist Mihaly Csikszentmihalyi founded the idea of “flow”, and he describes it as a state of being where you’re entirely present and incredibly content.  Many people experience flow when they run, dance, paint, meditate, play with their children, and even during ordinary and mundane activities.  Studies now suggest that the more we experience states of flow, the more satisfied we are with life.

What does this have to do with my blog? Well, I want to express that at the core of my being, I am passionate about helping others live their best life.

Disorganization causes and feeds stress.  Who needs more stress in their life?

Image

Ever feel like this?

My hope is that by writing about organization and life in general, I will inspire my readers to be intentional about how they structure and spend their time, and, as a result, experience more states of “flow” and satisfaction in their life.

Will you take this journey with me?

I certainly hope so!

What do you love to do that brings about a state of “flow”?

Follow me on Facebook and Pinterest!

4 thoughts on “From Chaos to Order- Why I love my work.

  1. Hi,

    I like the idea of flow and flow states. Is this your first post because I can’t seem to figure out any way to find your others?

    Also, this is a bit of constructive feedback. In terms of bringing order to chaos, trying to read your piece while having tons of those little pictures on either side is very distracting and a little bit trippy. To make it easier for your readers to read, changing the background to something less visually chaotic would be a nice step. Also, perhaps having a darker font would make the text easier to read against the white background.

    Sorry if I sound douchey but I just want to help your blog be as readable as possible

    • Honestly, I greatly appreciate the feedback! I am somewhat new to blogging and this particular blog is new. When I previewed my post, it didn’t show the trippy pictures. I will change that and the font color if I can figure it out! Please, any additional feedback is appreciated. Thanks for pointing this out!

  2. Hi Helen
    I too am a professional organizer, and i like you love what i do. There is nothing like a good session of organization when i am stressed. I know what you mean about the “flow” I not only feel that, but i also felt it pass to my latest client when we had finished her son’s room.
    I love to take the journey everyday.

Leave a Reply

